Celine Dion, known for her beautiful and powerful voice, is suffering from a virus that has silenced her. Dion was having difficulty singing during rehearsals the other day and knew something was terribly wrong. “I tried to sing at my sound check last week, and I had no control of my voice whatsoever,” Dion said in a statement. “We thought that after a few days’ rest I would improve, but it wasn’t getting any better.”

Medical professionals were brought in to assess the situation and realized the has a virus that is causing an inflammation of her vocal cords. To aid in her recovery, doctors asked that she rest her voice for the next eight weeks. As a result, she has to cancel her world famous Vegas show until she is better. “I feel worse knowing that I’m disappointing my fans. I’m so sorry … I hope they forgive me.”

Though they have scheduled other acts to go on during Dion’s absence, Im sure the Vegas venue will suffer a financial loss due to Celine‘s unforeseen illness.When they built the state of the art theater for Celine Dion, they made it to her liking, adding a humidifier to help preserve her precious voice. Luckily for everyone, doctors expect a full recovery so she will be singing fan favorites soon enough. In the meantime, Im sure she is capitalizing on getting quality time with her family.

