Image

 

Actress Gabourey Sidibe was on Watch What Happens Live, hosted by Andy Cohen the other day and told viewers about her disappointment after meeting her screen idol Joan Cusack at a party.

During the the show’s “Plead the Fifth” segment, Sidibe was asked,”What celebrity were you most disappointed by when you finally met them?”

Sidibe said,”I met Joan Cusack, who is my favorite – I love her – but, it was before I became (famous) or whatever. I was at some industry party, and she says, ‘Are you an actress?’ And I said, ‘Yeah!’ And she says, ‘Oh honey, you should really quit the business, it’s so image-conscious.'”

However, Sidibe did not take Cusack’s advice because soon after their introduction she auditioned for the role of precious and as they say ‘the rest is history.'”

Though Cusack’s words were harsh, was she wrong for the advice she gave? Maybe Sidibe asked her for a helpful tip and Cusack told her what she truthfully felt! In any event, Sidibe has gone on to star in Tower Heist and is a supporting actress on the Big-C.

Gabourey Sidibe’s on-screen success is definitely outside of Hollywood norms. However, I hope the entertainment industry continues to take chances with other actors who are not picture perfect.